What is Yoga Nidra?

Yoga Nidra


2 ALPHA = DEEP RELAXATION gate way to subconscious mind / most relax exercise

3 THETA = LIGHT MEDITATION AND SLEEP between phase / dreams

4 DELTA = DEEP SLEEP, dreamless sleep / unconscious mind / gate way to universal mind

Yoga Nidra means “Yogic sleep”. It is a consciousness sleep where you are in a deep Non REM sleep, where you produce Delta waves (1-4 hertz) and at the same time you are totally aware of the events in the environment.

The consciousness can go as far as you can lead it. That is the purpose of Yoga Nidra.

It goes beyond hypnosis.

You must try to stay awake. You are relaxed but you are not sleeping.

There is consciousness without thoughts.

You are aware of the fact that you practice yoga Nidra.

The teacher is only a guide. It is the technique that leads the mind to enlightenment and makes it independent of judgment. Not the teacher.

(In hypnosis you are put to sleep and your brain is brought down to a shot. The hypnotist is then the one who leads the mind.)

It is not a meditation. Rather the opposite.

You withdraw your senses and the mind is not concentrated like with meditation but rather brought to sleep.

The mind is isolated and calmed while conscious consciousness remains without isolation.

In Nidra you come into contact with your upper consciousness and your subconscious which can bring about major changes in a person’s character, psyche, actions and intuition if it is applied correctly.

It can help heal emotional trauma and break habits.

4 levels of consciousness

1- Awake = 3 levels of consciousness are active. conscious, subconscious unconscious

2- Dreaming = subconscious is active and stores in the unconscious brain

3- Deep sleep = Only unconsciously is still active. No pictures, desires or visualizations present

4- Turiya = Pure consciousness. Atman or Purusha. Can not be experienced by the senses.

Turiya = All that you are, All that you have been, All that you will ever be.


Creating a Blue print for Yoga Nidra
1 Sankalpa
2 one preliminary relaxation technique
3 Stage 1 – Rotation of Consciousness
4 Stage 2- one pranic breath technique
5 Stage 3 – Physical sensations
6 Stage 4- Imagery symbols (sacred shapes)
7 Stage 5 exploring the observer
8 sankalpa delivery
9 the return

The 5 layers
Annamaya kosha, food body, Unconscious mind (Beta)

Pranamaya kosha, “energy / subtle body”, Subconscious mind (Alpha)

Manomaya kosha “mind-stuff” Mental body, Conscious mind, Ahamkara (Theta)

Vijnanamaya kosha, “wisdom body” Buddhi (Delta)

Anandamaya kosha, “bliss body” Cave of the heart (Delta)

Atman – Purusha, The undifferentiated authentic self, Turiya (Deepest level of yoga nidra)

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga follows a set pattern. Vinyasas (smooth movements) link together asanas (static positions).
Over time, your practice becomes a meditation in motion.


Mindfulness is living with full attention. Living in the here and now. Being completely awake and observing without prejudice.
Jon Kabat-Zinn
distinguish 3 elements in mindfulness:

1. Focused attention (conscious)
2. In the current moment
3. Without judging (open, friendly)

Integral Yoga

Integral Yoga by Sri Aurobindo & Mother is a combination of Hatha Yoga, Pranayama and meditation to ensure that you get to know your inner self. You work with your attention focused on your crown.

“the power from above”.

Yoga Nidra

Nidra means “Yogic Sleep”. It is a consciousness sleep. There is consciousness without thoughts. It is not a meditation. Rather the opposite. You withdraw your senses and the mind is not concentrated, but rather brought to sleep. You are aware of the fact that you practice Yoga Nidra.

Hatha Yoga

Most modern forms of yoga are branches of Hatha Yoga. It can be described as a system for self-transformation. Balancing body, mind and energy to reduce suffering and increase happiness.

Zuna - Tantra Yoga

Tantra = Accelerate, Weave.
Zuna Yoga is a system after the oldest known living tradition of Eastern philosophy and science. It follows the Tantra tradition of Sri Vidya. Tantra Yoga has its roots in Hatha Yoga. It is the science of being.


Pilates is a workout where it is primarily about the perfect control of the movement.
This exercise method promotes control, flexibility, coordination and tone of the muscles without increasing the size.

This is a form of movement based on the subject matter and theory of Joseph Pilates.

Subscribe for more inspiration!

Do you want to receive more meditations or blogs? Then sign up for the newsletter.