What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Age-old tradition

Ashtanga yoga is a yoga form that was already described by Patanjali in his Sutras. Ashtanga Yoga has probably been around for 5000 years, but has been put back on the map since 1927 by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois and Sri Krishnamchary. Sri Krisnamchary discovered the Yoga Kuruntha, an age-old manuscript describing a method from thousands of years ago.

• Ashtanga means the eight limbs or the eightfold path.• Yama (moral code – self-control)
• Niyama (purification and leather)
• Asana (integration of body and mind through physical activity)
• Pranayama (breathing control)
• Pratyahara (control of the senses)
• Dharana (concentration)
• Dhyana (meditation)
• Samadhi (contemplation – the silent state of thoughtless consciousness)

Ashtanga Yoga is a dynamic sequence of postures that are practiced with simultaneous breathing. The postures are all connected by the movement called “vinyasa”. By keeping the concentration on breathing and the concatenation of movements, this results in a lack of flow of movements. Thanks to this flow of movements, a kind of inner sensation of the body is created, whereby the mind becomes still and gradually finds itself in a moving meditation.

What does Ashtanga Yoga consist of?

The Ashtanga postures consist of a number of sets of sun greetings, standing postures, sitting postures and lying / inverted postures. Since the series is always the same, this repetition ensures that the body cells store it in their internal memory. In this way we get to know our body well and what effect the practice of Ashtanga Yoga has on us. As a result, there is less room for individual variation within Ashtanga. The attitudes can be adjusted to the experience and needs of the student.

Ashtanga Yoga develops strength, endurance, flexibility and at the same time provides purification of the body thanks to perspiration. The key is finding a balance between rest and effort while practicing a certain posture, as well as practicing Ashtanga Yoga as a whole.

When you focus on the natural sound and rhythm of breathing in combination with looking at one point in your field of vision (also called dristhi), you eventually learn to meditate in motion. Ashtanga Yoga can help you understand the connection between mind and body.

Practice and all is coming ”

Sri.K. Pattabhi Jois.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga follows a set pattern. Vinyasas (smooth movements) link together asanas (static positions).
Over time, your practice becomes a meditation in motion.


Mindfulness is living with full attention. Living in the here and now. Being completely awake and observing without prejudice.
Jon Kabat-Zinn
distinguish 3 elements in mindfulness:

1. Focused attention (conscious)
2. In the current moment
3. Without judging (open, friendly)

Integral Yoga

Integral Yoga by Sri Aurobindo & Mother is a combination of Hatha Yoga, Pranayama and meditation to ensure that you get to know your inner self. You work with your attention focused on your crown.

“the power from above”.

Yoga Nidra

Nidra means “Yogic Sleep”. It is a consciousness sleep. There is consciousness without thoughts. It is not a meditation. Rather the opposite. You withdraw your senses and the mind is not concentrated, but rather brought to sleep. You are aware of the fact that you practice Yoga Nidra.

Hatha Yoga

Most modern forms of yoga are branches of Hatha Yoga. It can be described as a system for self-transformation. Balancing body, mind and energy to reduce suffering and increase happiness.

Zuna - Tantra Yoga

Tantra = Accelerate, Weave.
Zuna Yoga is a system after the oldest known living tradition of Eastern philosophy and science. It follows the Tantra tradition of Sri Vidya. Tantra Yoga has its roots in Hatha Yoga. It is the science of being.


Pilates is a workout where it is primarily about the perfect control of the movement.
This exercise method promotes control, flexibility, coordination and tone of the muscles without increasing the size.

This is a form of movement based on the subject matter and theory of Joseph Pilates.

Subscribe for more inspiration!

Do you want to receive more meditations or blogs? Then sign up for the newsletter.